7​th​ ​ ​ETHNOGRAPHY​ ​AND​ ​QUALITATIVE​ ​RESEARCH​ ​CONFERENCE

New call for papers: Exponential technologies society and General Data Protection Regulation: critical aspects in data protection
1 luglio 2017

Con piacere diamo notizia di questa interessante iniziativa:

7 th ETHNOGRAPHY AND QUALITATIVE RESEARCH CONFERENCE

Bergamo (Italy) – June 6-9, 2018

Organized by:

University of Bergamo

Etnografia e Ricerca Qualitativa (ERQ)

il Mulino

Since 2006, the Ethnography and Qualitative Research Conference in Bergamo has become an increasingly recognised and established scientific meeting for social researchers. The Conference is organised bi-annually, and has grown positively both in terms of numbers (with the 2016 edition gathering almost 300 scholars) and in terms of its international impact (with nearly half the participants coming from outside Italy).

The 2018 Ethnography and Qualitative Research Conference aims to build on the rich intellectual discussion developed during the previous editions. Researchers from across a variety of disciplines including sociology, anthropology, political sciences, arts & humanities, education, social work, geography, cultural studies, science and technology studies, and gender studies are able to present their research, discuss findings, theory and methodology in a lively and friendly environment.

The core mission of the conference is to:

• foster scholarly exchange and facilitate research collaborations among senior and junior scholars based in different universities and research centres in Europe and further afield;

• support the dissemination of fresh, original research;

• encourage PhD students at different stages of their research to share and present preliminary findings and fieldwork experience;

• welcome graduate and undergraduate students as members of the audience and active participants in conference discussions.

The conference embraces and endorses a broad, ambitious view of ethnographic research. Ethnography is understood as an inquiry into the processes, implications, and meanings of social life and culture in groups, organizations, and institutions across diverse social spaces and settings. Accordingly, contributions can be based on a variety of methods, including participant observation, in-depth interviews, focus groups, video-based field studies, auto-ethnography, visual ethnography, discourse studies, and other forms of inquiry inspired and informed by an ethnographic sensibility. The Conference welcomes empirically grounded, theoretically informed, and methodologically sound proposals that contribute to the substantive knowledge of the social world and contemporary emerging phenomena.

The 7 th edition features keynote talks and thematic sessions (see the full list below) addressing current key issues such as migration in its various aspect and the neoliberal turn in academic life and higher education. The format is based on 3-hour sessions with 5 to 6 paper presentations per session, leaving as much room as possible for debate and discussion.

“This is not a conference, it’s a feast!”, said a participant during the 6 th edition. Join us in celebrating our ethnographic passion!

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

Michel Agier: École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris

Wendy Espeland; Northwestern University (US)

HOW TO SUBMIT

To submit your proposal please send an e-mail to the convenor/s of the session of your choice and to the conference committee (erq.conference@unibg.it), indicating the title of the chosen session.

Please send:

▪ the title of your talk and an abstract of a maximum 1,000 words (.doc, .docx, .odt, .txt, .rtf);

▪ your contact details (f ull name, e-mail, post address and affiliation) and those of your co-author/s, if any;

▪ if you like (and we would be very happy!), a short video talk (2 min. max.), not necessarily on your proposed talk but a sort of teaser trailer for it (by sending the video, you thereby allow the organizing committee to upload the video at its discretion, in full or cut form, on the youtube channel of Etnografia e Ricerca Qualitativa: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTAnycGjE5KzDCr-AnFJwow/feed).

Abstracts (and video talks) must be submitted in English. The official languages of the conference, however, are Italian, English, and French. For each session, languages will be used on the basis of the composition of participants.

Proposals must be submitted by 15 January 2018.

Acceptance of proposals will be notified by 12 March 2018.

Contributors must register by 16 April 2018 to be included in the programme.

SESSIONS LIST

(see www.etnografiaricercaqualitativa.it for detailed CFPs)

1. The Intimate Life of Power – Convenor: Pietro Saitta (pisait@gmail.com)

2. Street-corner politics. Urban everyday life and the art of living together – Convenors: Sebastiano Citroni & Carole Gayet-Viaud(sebastiano.citroni@unimib.it; carole_gayet@yahoo.fr)

3. ‘Cultures of Combat’: Qualitative Studies of Martial Arts, Fighting Systems and Combat Sports – Convenors: David Brown, George Jennings & Dr. Lorenzo Pedrini (dbrown@cardiffmet.ac.uk, GBJennings@cardiffmet.ac.uk, l.pedrini5@campus.unimib.it)

4. Ethnography of university life in the era of evaluation – Convenors: Marco Pitzalis & Filippo Zerilli (pitzalis@unica.it; zerilli@unica.it)

5. Ethnography of Fascisms – Convenor: Charlie Barnao (charliebarnao@gmail.com)

6. Ethnographies of asylum seeker reception – Convenors: Michela Semprebon & Roberta Marzorati (roberta.marzorati@unimib.it, michela.semprebon@unibo.it)

7. Migrant Masculinities and Global Religions. Exploring Gendered Religious Change through International Mobility – Convenors: Ester Gallo & Francesca Scrinzi (ester.gallo@unitn.it, Francesca.Scrinzi@eui.eu)

8. Be(ar)ing witness: Testimony, evidence and subjectivation in institutional contexts – Convenors: Alessandra Gribaldo, Tommaso Sbriccoli & Barbara Sorgoni (alessandra.gribaldo2@unibo.it, barbara.sorgoni@unito.it, tommasosbriccoli@gmail.com)

9. Comparing What? Conceptualising comparison in migration and urban studies – Convenors: Nicholas DeMaria Harney & Andrea mubi Brighenti (nharney@uwindsor.ca, andrea.brighenti@unitn.it)

10. Work, Consumption and Social Relations: Processual Approaches to the Platform Society – Convenors: Chiara Bassetti, Annalisa Murgia & Maurizio Teli (chiara.bassetti@unitn.it, a.murgia@leeds.ac.uk, maurizio.teli@m-iti.org)

11. Minors in migration: Comparative Approaches – Convenors: Simona Tersigni & Lorenzo Navone (simona.tersigni@u-paris10.fr, lo.navone@gmail.com)

12. Ethnographic studies of tourism – Convenors: Monica Gilli & Giovanna Rech (monica.gilli@unito.it, giovanna.rech@unitn.it)

13. Experiencing the Sacred between Religion and Spirituality – Convenors: Stefania Palmisano, Nicola Pannofino & Emily Pierini (stefania.palmisano@unito.it, nicolaluciano.pannofino@unito.it, e.pierini@aur.edu)

14. Contested Rights: Minorities and Justice – Convenors: Paola Bonizzoni & Alberta Giorgi (paola.bonizzoni@unimi.it, alberta.giorgi@unibg.it)

15. Critical ethnographies of African media and creative industries – Convenor: Alessandro Jedlowski (alessandro.jedlowski@gmail.com)

16. Ethnographies of racialized labour processes – Convenors: Vando Borghi & Devi Sacchetto (vando.borghi@unibo.it, devi.sacchetto@unipd.it)

17. Informal labour brokers and contemporary capitalist economies – Convenors: Timothy Raeymaekers & Domenico Perrotta (timothy.raeymaekers@geo.uzh.ch, domenico.perrotta@unibg.it)

18. New patterns of intra-EU migration? Ethnographic insights on labour and welfare experiences of migrant workers – Convenors: Gabriella Alberti, Diego Coletto & Giovanna Fullin (G.Alberti@leeds.ac.uk, diego.coletto@unimib.it, giovanna.fullin@unimib.it)

19. Processes of criminalization and qualitative research – Convenors: Alvise Sbraccia & Francesca Vianello (alvise.sbraccia@unibo.it, francesca.vianello@unipd.it)

20. Visual research of migrations and other border experiences. What about politics and aesthetics? – Convenors: Annalisa Frisina, Valentina Anzoise and Camilla Hawthorne (annalisa.frisina@unipd.it, valentina.anzoise@unive.it, camilla.hawthorne@berkeley.edu)

21. What sort of Fieldwork and Participant Observation in today’s Maghreb? – Convenors: Mohamed Kerrou & Paola Gandolfi (mkerrou@gmail.com, paola.gandolfi@unibg.it)

22. Un/Sustainable Practices in a Scarcity-Driven World – Convenors: Elena Bougleux & Sara Bonfanti (elena.bougleux@unibg.it, sara.bonfanti@unibg.it)

23. Playing on the Move: Rethinking Sport, Migration and Play through Inter-relationality – Convenors: Estella Carpi, Chiara Diana & Stefano Fogliata (estella.carpi@gmail.com, dianachiara3@gmail.com, stefano.fogliata@gmail.com)

24. Death in European Society: Field Research Experiences – Convenors: Roberta Bartoletti, Asher Colombo & Francesca Pasquali (roberta.bartoletti@uniurb.it, asherdaniel.colombo@unibo.it, francesca.pasquali@unibg.it)

REGISTRATION FEES

Standard fee (full-time employed scholars): € 105 by April 3, 2018; € 165 after April 3, 2018.                                          Reduced fee (PhD, unemployed/part-time scholars): € 75 by April 3, 2018; € 105 after April 3, 2018.

The fee includes:

● access to all conference sessions;

● yearly subscription to the journal Etnografia e Ricerca Qualitativa (which publishes articles in Italian, English and French);

● buffet lunch on 8 June 2018 and coffee breaks;

● certificate of attendance to the conference;

With an additional fee of € 20, it is possible to obtain a two-year subscription to the journal.

  Standard Reduced
  Annual subscription Two-year subscription Annual subscription Two-year subscription
Early bird registration € 105 € 125 € 75 € 95
Late registration € 165 € 185 € 105 € 125

 

PROGRAMME OVERVIEW

  Wed. June 6 Thu. June 7 Fri. June 8 Sat. June 9
Morning   Pre-conference workshop Parallel sessions Parallel sessions &Closing
Lunch time   Registration Buffet lunch  
Afternoon Pre-conference workshop Keynote Lecture & Parallel Sessions Keynote Lecture & Parallel Sessions Meet the Editorial Board
Dinner time   Social dinner  

 

SCIENTIFIC & ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Chiara Bassetti, University of Trento (chiara.bassetti@unitn.it)

Elena Bougleux, University of Bergamo (elena.bougleux@unibg.it)

Andrea Mubi Brighenti, University of Trento (andrea.brighenti@unitn.it)

Sebastiano Citroni, University of Milano Bicocca (sebastiano.citroni@unimib.it)

Nick Dines, European University Institute (nicholas.dines@eui.eu)

Giolo Fele, University of Trento (giolo.fele@unitn.it)

Elena Fontanari, University of Milano (elena.fontanari@unimi.it)

Paola Gandolfi, University of Bergamo (paola.gandolfi@unibg.it)

Pier Paolo Giglioli, University of Bologna (pierpaolo.giglioli@unibo.it)

Alberta Giorgi, University of Bergamo (alberta.giorgi@unibg.it)

Alessandra Gribaldo, University of Bologna (alessandra.gribaldo2@unibo.it)

Marco Marzano, University of Bergamo (marco.marzano@unibg.it)

Cristina Mattiucci, University of Trento (cristina.mattiucci@unitn.it)

Gianmarco Navarini, University of Milano Bicocca (gianmarco.navarini@unimib.it)

Francesca Pasquali, University of Bergamo (francesca.pasquali@unibg.it)

Domenico Perrotta, University of Bergamo (domenico.perrotta@unibg.it)

Federico Rahola, University of Genova (federico.rahola@unige.it)

The Conference is organized by:

● University of Bergamo: https://en.unibg.it/

● Etnografia e Ricerca Qualitativa (ERQ) / Ethnography and Qualitative Research – The Italian Journal of Ethnography: www.mulino.it/riviste/issn/1973-3194 – ERQ is also on Facebook: www.facebook.com/EtnografiaeRicercaQualitativa

● il Mulino publishing house: www.mulino.it

 

For further information: www.etnografiaricercaqualitativa.it; erq.conference@unibg.it